4 Newly Enacted Illinois Laws Employers Must Know for 2024

New IL employment laws 2024

Legal obligations are constantly changing in the workplace. And, of course, employers are expected to keep track of these changes and abide by them. There are several new Illinois laws that went into effect on January 1, 2024 that relate to employment so we wanted to bring a few to the attention of IL employers. One addresses earnings, while the others pertain to time off that employees are now legally entitled to. Here’s what employers need to know:

Minimum Wage

The state of Illinois is slowly making its way up to the goal of a $15 per hour minimum wage. Although this law was technically passed in 2019, Illinois will see an increase in the minimum wage to $14 for 2024. It should be noted that the city of Chicago already meets, and in some cases exceeds, the targeted minimum hourly wage. For example, smaller businesses with fewer than 21 employees have a $15 minimum wage. Those companies with 21 or more employees are required to pay $15.80.

Paid Leave for All Workers Act (820 ILCS 192/)

This is one of the Illinois laws that will likely have the most impact on Illinois employees. This law establishes a minimum paid leave standard for all workers in Illinois. According to the law, workers are entitled to up to 5 days (40 hours) of paid leave per 12-month period. Workers earn 1 hour of paid leave for every 40 hours worked. Additionally, they can use the accrued paid time off for any reason and do not have to provide a specific reason to their employer.

Child Extended Bereavement Leave Act (820 ILCS 156/)

This law states that employees who experience the loss of a child (including biological, adopted, foster, step child or legal ward) by suicide or homicide may take unpaid time off to deal with their loss.  Large employers must allow up to 12 weeks leave, while smaller employers must allow up to 6 weeks.

Employee Blood and Organ Donation Leave Act (820 ILCS 149/)

This act states that employers with more than 51 employees are required to provide eligible employees with one hour every 56 days to donate blood. Additionally, employers must provide employees with up to 10 days of paid leave in any 12-month period to serve as an organ donor.

Work With Our Team to Stay Compliant with Illinois Laws

There are a number of caveats to these laws and not every law applies to every employer. Not sure how these new Illinois laws apply to your organization? Contact Churchill, Quinn, Hamilton & Van Donselaar, Ltd. to schedule a consultation. Our attorneys are well-versed in employment law and our business clients rely on us to help them navigate new changes as they come up in order to safeguard their interests. Reach out to 847-223-1500 to learn more about our business services and to make an appointment.